Minutes



PUBLIC MEETING – Annual Organizational

The Board of Education of School District No. 34 (Abbotsford) 2790 Tims Street, Abbotsford, BC V2T 4M7

Date:	November 7, 2023
Time:	6:45 pm
Location:	Meeting held through on-line video conference

TRUSTEES IN ATTENDANCE:	Korky Neufeld Mike Rauch Rupi Kanda-Rajwan Stan Petersen Preet Rai Jared White Shirley Wilson
STAFF IN ATTENDANCE:	Sean Nosek, Superintendent Ray Velestuk, Secretary-Treasurer Nathan Ngieng, Deputy Superintendent Tracy Orobko, Executive Assistant Corissa St. George, Executive Assistant Kayla Stuckart, Communications Manager

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Secretary-Treasurer Velestuk called the meeting to order at 6:45 pm.

2.0 ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

2.1 It was MOVED by Trustee Wilson and SECONDED by Trustee Petersen

THAT the Board of Education adopt the Agenda as presented.

CARRIED

3.0 NEW BUSINESS

3.1 Election of Board Chairperson

The Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Board Chairperson. Trustee Rauch nominated Trustee Neufeld who accepted the nomination.

After three calls and with no further nominations, the Secretary-Treasurer declared Trustee Neufeld as Board Chairperson of the Abbotsford Board of Education for 2023-2024.

The Secretary-Treasurer turned the meeting over to the newly elected Board Chairperson.

3.2 Election of Vice-Chairperson

Trustee Rauch thanked the Board for entrusting him with the role of Vice-Chair for the past year and announced he will be stepping aside to allow other trustees to consider the role.

The Board Chairperson called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson. Trustee Petersen nominated Trustee Rai who accepted the nomination.

The Chairperson called for further nominations for the position of Board Vice-Chairperson. Trustee White nominated Trustee Kanda-Rajwan.

After three calls and with no further nominations, the Secretary-Treasurer guided an electronic poll, and a vote was conducted.

Trustee Rai was declared Vice-Chairperson of the Abbotsford Board of Education for 2023-2024.

3.3 Destruction of Ballots for Election of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson

It was MOVED by Trustee Wilson and SECONDED by Trustee Rai

THAT the ballots be destroyed.

CARRIED

3.4 Chairperson's Comments

The Chairperson provided comments on the past year commending the efforts of all staff in keeping schools open through adversity, hard work, and dedication. Chair Neufeld further thanked Truste Rauch for his past year as Vice-Chair and the growth and work that came with it. He further thanked parents and the community for continued support and patience and understanding as difficult decisions were made over the past year. Special thanks were made to Pam Alzona, Corissa St. George and Tracy Orobko for their continued administrative support in keeping the Board organized and for the work done behind the scenes for not only the Board but also staff.

Highlights also included:

- Board's strategic plan
- Opening of Irene Kelleher Toti:ltawtxw
- District's receipt of \$1.9m affordability funding
- Acknowledging the 10 indigenous youth role models for the next school year
- Celebrations of retirements including former Superintendent Godden
- The appointment of Superintendent Nosek and the strong leadership he brings
- \$1.5m in scholarships and bursaries
- Supportive community and organizations
- Student voice

The Board is committed also to the challenges of the ongoing long-term impacts of the pandemic; emotional and mental well-being; staff engagement and ongoing conversations around sexual orientation and gender identity as a provincial issue.

4.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:00 pm.

Board Chair